Banner Image
All About the Skilled Work Regional Visa (Australia)

All About the Skilled Work Regional Visa (Australia)


All About the Skilled Work Regional Visa (Australia)

Want to work in Australia but do not know which visa to apply for? You may be eligible for The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491). This particular visa enables skilled workers/migrants to study, live or work in Australia for up to five years. Candidates can travel to and from Australia as many times as they want, while the visa is valid. Also, they may​ apply for permanent residence after 3 years from the time the visa is granted​. Nevertheless, there are a few designated areas where these individuals may reside in. Additionally, the candidate must receive a nomination from Victoria to apply for the visa. Otherwise, they are not eligible to be approved for this particular visa.

The Eligibility Criteria

In order to receive a nomination for the Visa, there are a few ordeals that must be met:

  1. Have to be under the age of 45
  2. Speak competent English
  3. Live and work in the Victorian region
  4. Completed the Skills Assessment required for the work visa
  5. Received the minimum points score
  6. Selected your Registration of Interest

Steps to Apply for The Skilled Work Regional Visa

Before you Apply

Submit your

  1. Make an Expression of Interest (EOI) with SkillSelect.
  2. Submit a Registration of Interest (ROI).
  3. Have your ROI selected and receive an invitation to apply.
  4. Prepare your evidence of skilled work to support your application.
  5. Submit a nomination application via the Live in Melbourne portal.
  6. Respond to any requests for further information within 14 days.


5 Years


From AUD4,115Processing Time

  • 75% of applications: 10 months
  • 90% of applications: 13 months

Article by: Hari Yellina (Orchard Tech)