Banner Image
Young Growers Recognised for their Achievements

Young Growers Recognised for their Achievements


Young Growers Recognised for their Achievements

Article by: Hari Yellina

The nominees for the 2022 Corteva Agriscience Young Grower of the Year Award range from a potato grower in Tasmania who produces premium vodka to an exotic tropical fruit farmer in North Queensland and brassica growers in Victoria. The Corteva Agriscience Young Grower of the Year Award, which honours Australia’s greatest young fruit and vegetable farmers, has a shortlist of eleven nominees from around the country. As part of the National Awards for Excellence, the winner will be announced at the Hort Connections Gala Dinner on June 8 in Brisbane. Each young grower nominated for the award is a horticulture champion who exhibits a commitment to the industry and their communities, as well as an understanding of the value of sustainability in improving agriculture and the environment.

The nominees for the 2022 Corteva Agriscience Young Grower of the Year Award are:

  • Sam Boyce, MJ Hall & Sons, Mooroopna, Vic;
  • Ruby Daly, Daly Farms and Hellfire Bluff Distillery, Marion Bay, Tas;
  • Craig Dingle, Kalfresh, Kalbar, Qld;
  • Ryan Marr, Marrbiz Pty Ltd, Trentham Cliffs, NSW;
  • Josh Maunder, Aus-Ex Fruit, Bellenden Ker, Qld;
  • Marlon Motlop, The Native Co, Adelaide, SA;
  • Ross Pirrone, Pirrone Bros, Ayr, Qld;
  • Nicole Stevens, SA Potato Co, Parilla, SA;
  • Carl Young, Redgold, Wemen, Vic;
  • Michael and Jason Agosta, AAA Farms, Werribee South, Vic.

Ruby Daly, the 27-year-old business manager of Tasmania’s Daly Farms and Hellfire Bluff Distillery, is one of the nominees for this year’s award. Ms. Daly expressed her gratitude and surprise at being nominated. She believes the prize is critical in recognising the work of younger producers and promoting farming as a viable career option for young people. “I grew up on a family farm in Marion Bay, Tasmania’s southeast corner. For over 30 years, Mum and Dad have been growing potatoes “Ms. Daly explained. “I did a trade after high school. Then, some seven years ago, I returned home to assist in the establishment of Hellfire Bluff Distillery. “Using our second-grade potatoes, the farm distillery adds value.

“We make quality potato vodka, Tasmanian gins, and liqueurs on the farm, bringing fresh potatoes right from the ‘paddock to the bottle.’ “The company has grown significantly in recent years. “Hellfire Bluff Distillery received four gold prizes at the San Francisco World Spirits Competition earlier this year. “I’m both ecstatic and surprised to have been nominated for the Young Grower of the Year Award. It means a lot to me. “I have no idea who nominated me, but I am incredibly grateful that my work has been recognised in this way. “Young Grower Awards have a significant impact. They assist young farmers gain confidence and show others what a future in farming could look like. “Which is critical, particularly for young women.”

“Corteva continues to be an enthusiastic supporter of the award.” We’re devoted to recognising and supporting horticulture’s emerging stars and assisting them in advancing to positions of leadership. “Each year, the devotion and originality of the prize nominees astounds me, and 2022 is no exception. “All 11 shortlisted nominees are destined to be the future leaders in horticulture and are helping to build a stronger, more inventive, and more sustainable industry.” “We’re extremely lucky to have so many outstanding young women and men pursuing jobs in Australia’s fields and paddocks.” “I’m looking forward to seeing the 2022 Young Growers nominees in Brisbane in June at Hort Connections.” This year’s Young Grower nominees, according to Nick Koch, Corteva Agriscience marketing manager, “highlight the depth of talent and variety in Australian horticulture.” “The Young Grower of the Year Award honours Australia’s best young fruit and vegetable growers,” Mr Koch said. Corteva will be creating opportunities for them to connect with the alumni of previous Young Growers to continue to build a community of horticulture leaders.